Fellow citizens of Hong Kong,

Good afternoon!

The Central People's Government has approved my resignation and relieved me of the post of the Chief Secretary for Administration of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. I now announce my decision to stand for the election for the Sixth-term Chief Executive of the HKSAR.

For more than 40 years, alongside the development of Hong Kong, I have gradually become part of the governing team of the HKSAR government. I have always reflected on what we should do to make Hong Kong even better.

Hong Kong is celebrating the 25th anniversary of its return to the Motherland this year. In this monumental moment, we should build upon the past and look ahead into the future. We should grasp the good opportunities and attain new development heights. In the past two years or so, I have witnessed Hong Kong's restoration of order from chaos, and the opening up of opportunities for development and reform. I truly believe that the next five years will be a critical time for Hong Kong to move from the present stage of order towards an era of prosperity underpinned by effective governance.

After much deliberation, I have decided to stand for the election and commit myself to the historic mission of bringing Hong Kong forward, together with different sectors of the community and Hong Kong people. I earnestly look forward to seeing Hong Kong as a city brimming with vibrancy, as a community in which everyone is happy, as a society that is highly open, as a place which embraces unity, and as a home which provides stability and safety.

This decision is made out of my loyalty to my country, my love for Hong Kong, and my sense of duty to Hong Kong people. I am confident that I will rise up to the greatest challenge in my public service career.

As for future policies, I intend to focus mainly on three policy areas: one, to resolve various issues based on a result-oriented approach; two, to increase the overall competitiveness of Hong Kong; and third, to consolidate a firm foundation for Hong Kong's development.

I came from grassroots. Growing up in public housing, I have experienced first-hand the hardships faced by the grassroots community. I firmly believe that resolving the concerns of people must be a top priority in government policies.

Being a pragmatic person, I have always believed that aside from procedural compliance, our ultimate objective must be to ensure results. I intend to effect changes on government's philosophy and ways of doing things to enhance the effectiveness of policy implementation. I will strive to build a teamwork culture that think and act in a "we and us" and not a "you or us" mindset as well as a collaborative approach to problem solving. Obviously, change should not be for the sake of changing; good policies and practices should remain.

For a long period of time, there have been a number of deep-rooted issues, including housing, healthcare and youth development etc., which have not been effectively resolved. The objective of change is to achieve better outcome, thereby benefiting our society and Hong Kong people. If successfully elected, I will lead the new-term government under the principle of "Patriots administering Hong Kong" and actively engage different sectors of the community and Hong Kong people in formulating policies and measures to resolve these issues, such that Hong Kong people can truly benefit from the fruits of progress and development.

In the coming five years, starting a new chapter of development, Hong Kong must enhance its overall competitiveness.

With the advantages under the "One Country, Two Systems", Hong Kong enjoys the enormous growth opportunities from the Central Government's strategies, including its "14th Five-Year Plan", the development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and other policies in support of Hong Kong. Provided that we seize on these opportunities and leverage on our unique strengths and advantages to create new economic growth areas and proactively integrate into the national development, Hong Kong will embrace a future with unlimited possibilities.

Hong Kong must maintain its characters of being an international metropolis. Hong Kong must expand its international connectivity, establish a more favourable business environment, uphold the values of inclusion, diversity and openness, and further strengthen its competitiveness in finance, trade, transportation, innovation and technology etc. As Hong Kong boards the express train of our country's development, Hong Kong must simultaneously reinforce its competitive strengths in the global arena, and bolster its role as a gateway and bridge between our country and the world. This is where Hong Kong's vitality lies.

We will also need to start a new chapter for Hong Kong and to consolidate a firm foundation. This foundation will provide a safe and stable environment for the whole of Hong Kong.

In the coming five years, Hong Kong must expedite its development, consolidate its hard-earned stability and create a safe and stable environment in which we can stride forward with nothing hanging over us. The Chief Executive of the HKSAR must protect the overall interests of Hong Kong and the new government will continue to safeguard the rule of law, which is the core value and cornerstone of its governance, as well as ensure the long-term stability and prosperity of Hong Kong under "One Country, Two Systems".

Having served in the government for over four decades, I genuinely believe that even the greatest have limits. To achieve the above policy objectives requires the joint efforts of all sectors of the community and each of us. If successfully elected, I will lead the Sixth-term government to openly, frankly and respectfully engage with the Hong Kong people and listen to them. Talents will be recruited and teams will be formed, experienced and competent talents and experts from different sectors will be nominated and appointed to take up key positions in the government and other governing bodies. Together, we will strive for excellence in all aspects of our work.

This new chapter will be a new symphony. Being the conductor, I will ensure that each member will be able to leverage his or her strengths to create the synergy effect of "one plus one is greater than two". Together we will play a more splendid new piece for Hong Kong.

In today's volatile world, one will fall behind just by standing still. Hong Kong cannot slow down nor can it wait. If successfully elected, I will lead the Sixth-term government through efficient and effective policy implementation, unite different sectors of the community and Hong Kong people, and further advance the successful implementation of "One Country, Two Systems" so as to build a better Hong Kong.

Hong Kong's development matters not only to Hong Kong people, but is also dear to the hearts of our 1.4 billion fellow Chinese. It is also the attention of nations across the world. For the sake of ourselves, our next generation, Hong Kong and our country, we must achieve excellent results.

Hong Kong should have a better future, better life and better development. However, these will not just come to us. I strongly believe that through the three major policy areas that I put forward, namely, to implement policies with a result-oriented approach, to increase its our overall competitiveness and to consolidate its firm foundation, Hong Kong will have greater capability to respond to any challenges in the future!

Thank you.

各位香港市民:

大家好!

中央人民政府已經批准我的辭職,免去我香港特別行政區政府政務司司長的職務。現在,我向大家宣佈,我決定參加第六屆香港特別行政區行政長官選舉。

40多年來,我跟隨香港發展進程,一步步走到特區政府的管治班子,經常反思,我們要怎樣做,香港才可以變得更好?

今年是香港回歸祖國25周年,承前啟後,意義重大。極需把握好機遇,邁上新發展台階。過去兩年多,我看到香港由亂及治的變化,看到發展變革的契機,深深感到,未來5年是香港由治及興的關鍵時刻。

經過深入思考,我決定出來參選,承擔歷史使命,與社會各界和香港廣大市民一起推動香港向前。我期盼看到一個充滿活力的香港,一個人人都有幸福的香港,一個高度開放的香港,一個廣泛團結的香港,一個社會安寧的香港。

這個決定,出於我對國家的忠誠、對香港的熱愛、對市民的負責,我有信心在我未來迎戰公職生涯中最大的挑戰。

對於未來施政,我有三個主要方向,一是以結果為目標解決不同的問題,二是全面提升香港競爭力,三是奠定香港發展的穩固基石。

我出身基層。小時候在公屋長大,親歷基層市民的困難。深信政府施政,必須以解決市民的問題為首位。

我是一個務實的人,一向相信做事要除符合程序,更要以結果為目標。我會從政府理念和做事方式作出變革,提升施政效率。我要建立團隊觀念,做事的時候不分「你或我」,強化「我和我們」共同解決問題的團隊文化。變革,不是為變而變,好的政策,好的做法會保留。

長期以來,香港累積一些深層次的問題,包括房屋、醫療、青年發展等,未能很好地解決。變革的目的,是為了達到更好的成果,惠及社會和市民。如果我能成功當選,新一屆政府會在「愛國者治港」原則下,積極與社會各界和市民互動,制定解決各種問題的政策措施,讓市民真正得到實惠,分享發展紅利。

未來五年,香港進入發展的新時期,必須全面提升競爭力。

在「一國兩制」制度優勢之下,國家「十四五」規劃、粤港澳大灣區建設及惠港政策,為香港提供良好發展機遇。只要我們把握好,善用自身優勢和特長,打造新的經濟增長點,主動融入國家發展大局,香港就會前途無限。

香港要繼續保持國際大都會特色,不斷擴大國際聯繫,進一步提升良好營商環境,體現包容、多元、開放的特質,進一步鞏固和提升包括金融、貿易、航運、創科等領域的競爭力。香港既要搭上國家發展號的高速列車,亦在世界的競爭中形成自己新優勢,還要做好國家與世界各國增進聯繫的通道和橋樑。這是香港的活力所在。

我們還要為香港開創新篇,奠定穩固的基石,從而為整體香港提供一個安穩的環境。

未來五年香港要加快發展,必須鞏固得來不易的穩定局面,創造一個安定、穩固的環境,讓香港無後顧之憂,可以大步前行。香港特區政府的行政長官要維護香港的整體利益,保障香港不受破壞。要建立一個忠誠、擔當的政府,守住「法治」這核心價值和施政的基石,確保在「一國兩制」下,香港長期繁榮穩定。

我在政府服務40多年,深知一個人的能力再大,也是有限的。要達至以上的施政目標,必須依靠社會各界、全港市民的共同努力。如果我成功當選,在我領導下的第六屆政府將會以誠懇的態度走入社區傾聽民意,亦會積極延攬人才、組建團隊,推薦、委任各領域有經驗、有能力的人才、專家,擔任政府及其他管治機構的要職,齊心協力、共同做好各方面工作。

這將會是一曲新的交響樂。我會當指揮,讓當中每一位成員,發揮其優勢,盡展其所長,創造「一加一大於二」的協同效益,共同為香港奏出更輝煌的新樂章。

世界大變,不進則退。香港慢不得,也等不起。如果能成功當選,我會帶領第六屆特區政府高效施政,團結社會各界和市民,大力推進「一國兩制」的成功實踐,把香港建設得更加美好。

香港的發展,涉及香港人的福祉,同時受全國14億同胞的關心,亦受世界各國的關注。我們要為自己,為下一代,為香港,為國家,做出優異成績。

香港應該有更好的未來,更好的生活,更好的發展,但這一切不會自然發生。我深信我提出的三個方向,即施政以結果為目標、全面提升競爭力、奠定穩固基石,會確保我們更有能力應對未來不同的挑戰。

謝謝大家!